Envigorate

It’s probably time to write a blog post, as I’ve been absent for nearly three months (I’m currently experiencing a mixture of shame and embarrassment). To be frank, blogging is difficult for me because it’s hard to articulate all the random thoughts that go through my mind on a regular basis.

The student-led ENVigorate Festival took place at the University of Waterloo at the end of March.  It was an amazing access, and I wish to congratulate all those who organized it!  I hope that it becomes an annual occurrence.  There was a lot going on, with speeches, workshops, music, etc.  Needless to say, it was a lively and colourful day in the environment buildings.  Personally, I signed up for two workshops: sprouting and crocheting (it was a tough choice, there were so many things that I wanted to do).  I’ve always loved to knit, and I had heard that crocheting was quite easy, so I decided to give it a try.  I’m sure the knitters out there would understand, but the act of knitting can actually be quite addictive – perhaps, it’s the prospect of creating something from nothing with a simple repetitive motion.  Crocheting was definitely the same.  The particular workshop that I attended taught us how to crochet tea towels.  As with knitting, I found my “gauging” ability to be pretty poor, resulting in a tea towel with uneven margins.  In the end, I decided to unravel it while I was about halfway through, and am now in possession of a colourful ball of yarn that I hope to turn into a tea towel again.  What can I say, I tried.  I hope that the “Practice makes perfect!” mantra has some truth to it.  I’ve made it a point to buy some of my own crochet needles and finish my tea towel before I forget how to crochet altogether.  Perhaps, if I finish and it looks decent, I will post a picture of it :).

Sprouting was another new experience for me at the festival.  I’ve posted some pictures of my sprouts, below.  I had no idea how easy the process was, and how delicious sprouts taste when they’re fresh.  All you need a mason jar, mesh (or cheesecloth), water, and something to sprout (which you can easily get from health food stores or the Bulk Barn).  If you wish to learn more about sprouting, you can read this page.  I encourage you to try it!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5! Yum.

Leave a Reply

