Which way is home?

It’s been a month since I’ve last blogged.  I got a bit caught up in the holidays, and I’m admittedly still very much in a holiday mood, but the real world is drawing me closer.  I hope to return to some regularly scheduled posting soon.

This week, an article by the National Geographic titled “How Do Sea Turtles Find the Beach Where they Were Born?” has been trending online.  I’ve always been amazed by the fact that despite the extensive migrations made by sea turtles, they manage to return to the exact same place in which they were hatched to mate and nest.  As it turns out, scientists have now found that loggerhead sea turtles (Caretta caretta) return to these initial beaches by sensing Earth’s magnetic field.  Apparently, each beach has its own “magnetic code”.  Accordingly, however, nesting sites will shift in response to changes in this field.

The photo seen above, of a nesting green sea turtle (Chelonia mydas) in Costa Rica, was taken by my friend Nathalie. How cool is that?!

An internal compass is certainly a handy navigational tool, sometimes I wish that I had one.

One thought on “Which way is home?

  1. I get lost while looking at my iPhone map which has a built in compass also.

    My friend Dave had told me that some people embed a particular kind of metal under their fingertips that is super sensitive to magnetic fields so that they can feel them. It was kind of weird.

Leave a Reply

